In My Backpack

In the book Finding Someplace, the main character Reesie had to pack her bag and leave fast because there was a hurricane. She had to pack quickly and thoughtfully. Reesie Boone lived in New Orleans with her family, her neighbor Miss Martine, and her friends. Sadly, Hurricane Katrina hit on Reesie’s 13th birthday. When the hurricane struck, she was at Miss Martine’s house, picking up her cake. The flooding got so high that they had to get on the roof! Luckily, at the end she was brought to the Superdome, where she was reunited with her family.

If I had to leave because of a hurricane, this is what I’d pack. In my backpack, I would put two granola bars because they wouldn’t rot, and they would be food to eat. Plus, granola bars are high in protein, and protein is important. I would also bring a water bottle because although water is surrounding me, I would prefer fresh water.  A blanket would be essential because it could be cold outside. Something that I believe is extremely important is a life jacket! If the water gets too high, then I could just float. I would also bring a flashlight for light and a whistle for signals. The last thing I would bring is water purification tablets in case I needed to drink the hurricane water. This is what I would bring in my backpack if I had to pack quickly.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *